More Virtual World comparison #inworldz and #secondlife

First an apology…I write blog posts for clients who use WordPress and I use WordPress myself a lot. But I’ve failed to learn how to use it as fully as I should, and thus, have missed some people trying to talk to me. I’m sorry. This, I think I fixed now…sort of.

First problem I had is too many notices to my email…I don’t read blog updates via email, I use the wordpress reader. My email was crammed with hundreds of notices, and the comments were buried. Now I need to find all I had followed before because I unfollowed them to get them out of my email, and see how to get them into my reader without going to my email account too.

Second problem is..it’s a maintenance email. I don’t visit it often. Only reason I did now was to reset one of my gaming passwords. So I’m going to have to take the time to visit my blog’s admin section and read to see if there were comments to any posts. I’m not really used to people responding…kind of thrilled that someone read what I said. LOL I feel like I’m talking to myself most of the time.

There was a group of us talking about a griefer situation and I posted about it. The responses I got were very helpful, and very humbling. I made a few public, kept the rest private, as they did reveal some information I wasn’t comfortable with public on. Thank you. This is why I love Inworldz so much. We may be a bunch of different personalities, sometimes a bit bi-polar and a lot to deal with, but things seem to come around in the end to a good end.

And man, do the Inworldz team work their butts off!

In the case of the griefer situation, I think I’ll keep all suggestions in mind and ask our group leaders if everything seems quiet. I imagine it is, as our troublemaker seems to stop for so long before coming back. Maybe it takes him that long to get back into position. I’ll add my report to AR, if I see him resurface again.

I do hope the future gives better group control without having to shut them down. Shutting the memberships down isn’t the answer from a business perspective, for it forces new customers to work to try to figure out how to get into a group. Especially when no one sets out signs or provides a descriptive notecard in the product packs explaining the groups and who to contact to get in.

Our group even remade the ad group for it. I understood, but really? How could that help? Griefer players like this will bide their time, pretend to be good guys, get the foot in the door of whatever group you have, and then wham! do their griefing. It’s a pain to keep reporting and keep kicking them out, but it’s the best tools we have to work with. I do look forward to being able to ban them from groups in the future. Good to hear others are interested in that too.

What’s sad is how jumpy it makes me when a new person visits now, wondering if it’s him. But don’t worry. I’m sure it will pass.

Now, onto a small comparison note to add…

Visiting Second Life can be fun, but it’s still short lived. Visuals are great, when mesh and sculpt chooses to rez in quickly. Walking can be smooth, but not as well. Seems to be more ‘disruptions’ while exploring. Sim crossings involved stepping forward very slowly and then patiently waiting for the skidding across the sim or rubberbanding to settle down before going on. Get in an area with more than four people and patience is needed.

Visiting Inworldz is fun and longer lived. Rezing in is nearly always quick, and when it’s not, I can usually say it’s something I did versus grid performance.  Walking, flying, and pretty much everything is pretty smooth. I know there’s some sim crossing issues and once I crashed during it, but the issue on my end only lasted a short time and seemed to be resolved. I couldn’t do a good job reporting circumstances at the time so I did not. Lately, sim crossings have been pretty smooth. Handling areas with people in them is enjoyable.

I do play on a computer with a few issues, and a strong, fast internet with some mysterious latency issues the provider’s been working hard for a year to figure out. But what I have is still more than most other players on the grids. My best guess is that Inworldz is better able to deal with variances than Second Life is.

I noticed something with the oyo breedables this week on the grids.

In Inworldz, through beta and all this time I’ve tested the version 2 horses hard with movement on, close together, far apart, roams wide and roams close, with a few or a lot. Now up to 200 on full roam on a sim is a bit much on the bandwidth. But not terrible. Best results is with 3/4 in market mode and rest on either standing movement or roam. But no issues. Things work pretty good.

In Second Life I went to a major multi-breeder’s sim I’ve known for many years. This breeder does probably ten types of animals and just loads the sim up with them. Has a huge marketplace of her own on the sim. Critters are always moving around, some from standing, but many on roam.

She had them spaced out a little better this time, and there were three oyo horses on roam with some more on standing animations. Now the ones on standing animations, no problem. But the ones on roam weren’t doing so well. They had major movement issues. First time I’ve ever seen this on her sim in all these years.

Can’t tell you what that means. I’m not a scripter.

Just an observation there.  I can say that I did have to keep movement off on most of my Amaretto horses when I kept 250 plus 3 homes for the two friends who shared my sim with me, back in the day. That may have been awhile ago, but I think it says a lot about Inworldz. I didn’t seem to have as many issues with my 200 animals on an Inworldz sim as I did back then. Inworldz being younger and all…

 

 

Categories: Breedables, Inworldz, oyos, Second Life, Uncategorized, Virtual Worlds | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “More Virtual World comparison #inworldz and #secondlife

  1. On the topic of troublemakers in groups, we really do need to implement group bans, which were added to SL finally after many years but long overdue. We also need those as that’s as fundamental as region and parcel bans. It is a priority for us but unfortunately we still have many things to accomplish. I know you want to leave things mostly open for new users, so you want the Everyone group role to enable group IM. But one thing I’d suggest is that you define a “Notice Publisher” role (or something like that) for a group which enables posting of group notices, while that option is disabled in the Everyone role. That way they need to apply to the group owner (or a group manager who can add people to a role) to be able to send notices. That way if there is a problem with a notice poster, you remove them from that role and they can’t post any more. Then you can contact support to have that user’s notices removed, if desired.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

