Some Virtual World Rambling Both #secondlife and #inworldz

Rambling thoughts on Virual World life and the future

It seems that the days of my former virtual world living are over. Perhaps even getting closer to a time where I won’t be inworld that much. I don’t think I’d leave outright…I’d be in during Relay for Life season, and at least a few times a week to check on my breedables. Let’s face it. Unless I get to a point where I have a farm load of critters, I won’t leave the breedables scene.

But Life is full, and I’m in process of taking on a HUGE undertaking with my business that will take my time up for the next three years. It’s one of those really scary things that involve a huge investment in one’s time, ambitions, and resources. A good thing with a very good end projected.

I’m still on both grids. Here are my thoughts on recent experiences to add to what I’ve said before.

Inworldz:

Still the awesome amazing place as always. I’ve noticed some have given management a hard time because something hasn’t been fixed like yesterday. The joys of IT. End users can’t comprehend the thousands of lines of code, the multiple testing that has to go on, and how much time this takes. And in Inworldz, you get ones believing Inworldz should be just like Second Life and should run on same schedule.

Fact: a few programmers working together just will not be able to work as fast as a fleet of programmers.
Fact: programmers who take the time to go over everything and test it properly first will take longer than those who just “fling stuff at the wall and see what sticks”
Fact: This is not Second Life…if you want that, stay there. I’m only on two full grids, but imagine each grid has it’s own unique characteristics. Expecting each of them to be just like SL is insulting and it doesn’t make you look well.

I don’t envy grid developers. People pay and people have certain expectations. Myself included. I’ve given them my own form of grief a few times. Luckily, there are many people who understand the challenges as I do, but the bottom line is if we can’t get what we want, then we’ll take our money and time elsewhere. Keeping up with all the personalities and the expectations to keep a business viable is a huge challenge.

Hopefully we’ll find out with the next update that all issues with sailing, crossing, and sitting have been resolved, and they can move onward to the next improvement.

Hopefully, we’ll see that the v2 horse bundle issue has really been resolved. Mandy and I have unboxed our sales ones now, plus I have two test groups out, on the ground and in a skybox. This next update will be the real test. If it busts the bundles again, I may just go to selling lives, like a few others have.

Finally, after Mystic and I have tried to wake people up to the issue for months, they’re checking their bundles and now complaining. I fear what will go on if we find out it’s not fixed. People will not be patient for more broken bundles for long.

Inworldz is my home. I do not plan on having to cut back on space. It’s clearly evident that we’re able to really do so much more with our space than in Second Life. I mean..if one wants to enjoy their breedables on roam or movement on to a reasonable degree…if one wishes to cross a sim line without crashing or zipping through the grid…if one wants to rez something and not have to panic about primspace…if one wants to build something cool out of all prim types without things exploding…and more.

Time will be my biggest issue…Elvenglades is almost finished. I just have to finish filling the castle in Moor-Knight, and the forest in Hudan. With my next business step I’ll be working 60-80 hours for a time, then hopefully I can be down to 40 hours come January. Some duties I can perform while enjoying the game atmosphere, even if I don’t get building time in. Inworldz is where this will happen.

One thing I wonder about Inworldz, is player retention. How good is it? On examing my personal group, it looks as if many come in and then just fall off. Only a few appear to be regularly using the game. Will this improve once the current crossing and sitting issues are resolved? Or has this started before then? Perhaps, the world players as a whole have been looking for something that makes the gaming decisions for them. Inworldz gives us freedom and the ability to exercise freedom to be in our own world and develop it out as much as we like.  For the more independent player.

Second Life is more directive naturally because of its size. The one element that gives it an edge and keeps it on top of the other grids. There are more reasons, but they can all go back to size. With more people come more options. With more builders come more variety. With more people come more community personalities that one may fit into.

Inworldz is less challenging in the way that it really doesn’t break down as often, the updates are set at more convenient times and more well thought out versus hurried through, and you get so much more for the price also meaning you don’t have the challenge of having to count each and every prim, making a sacrifice each time you want something new.

Perhaps people prefer a more challenging existance and find easy living boring. Maybe it just goes back to size…people are lonely and are dependent to the point that having that many players in the same game at the same time is a necessity for enjoyment. I don’t know. With all the increased benefits with Inworldz, there must be a more deeper reason people stick with Second Life.

Second Life

Yes I’m there still. I can safely say it is ONLY for the breedables though.

KittyCats and Biobreeds. Two breedables people often express a wish for in Inworldz. And if they were to come to Inworldz? Oh my, the resident population would explode. I guarantee it.

I am doing some oyo elephants&sabres and a pair of amaretto horses there too, but getting close to letting those go.  I have a good stock of store offerings now. Sales are still just as tough there as they are with a small group that is in Inworldz. Actually, tougher.

Forget selling oyo for the minimum 500L they imposed at their main. I’ve done various tests. People want to pay 100L and will only pay more past a certain point, and definitely not to the point the “experts” say they should. The buyers control the prices, not you control the buyers. Force them, and they’ll just go to where they can have fun instead of worry about meeting your expectations. I’ve witnessed the move to or back to Biobreeds because of this controlling, damaging attitude.

Don’t get me wrong. There’s a small group who do pay more, and there are those who have learned to market within that area. All breedables do have this element.

Rest of SL just doesn’t interest me anylonger. I’ve been able to experience having the ability to go to a full sim and still function well in Inworldz. Without someone screaming at us to take this and that off, to sit still, to do whatever. Now, subjecting myself to that in SL is just a disruption to my day.  I’ve grown used to things actually rezing in without crashing me or making me wait forever. Sure, there are those certain areas in Inworldz that seem to have a little issue with this, but not like SL.

And the breedables…have a few oyos and they got stuck, froze for days before I realized it. Never happened in IW. Just the typical sometimes you have to convince them that they do like one another and breed. All grids will have breedables issues…it’s just the nature of scripts. But maintaining takes more work and time in SL than in IW. And in SL, one has to keep movement off, sound off, etc at the marketplaces, whereas IW seems more capable of handling such things. And at home? Varies with the breedable, so maybe I won’t specify on that. But will say that I am more impressed with sim ownership and breedables in Inworldz than with SL.

Of course, I work hard to keep conflicts down, unlike some.

My SL life will suffer in a couple of weeks…downsizing some more. Will be on my owned parcel and one or two market spots then. My plan is to make it where I just check in once a week to take care of my animals. Why stay then? I don’t know. Maybe I won’t. It’s possible. I’m just waiting before making a final decision, to see what my time and desire is at once I really get into my new business venture.

I can say it’s the cute kittycats and the cattery that helps keep me there. They give a lot of prim adjusting benefits. And the Biobreeds, so well done, and one of the few breedables one can actually turn on without dragging sim performance in Second Life. I love my wolves and have been healing a pack of them to breed again. Those will make sure I don’t leave right away.

Plus, I am in my family groups and care to stay in touch, to know how they’re doing in life.

Myst and Elpis

I’m adding this on the end. Elpis and her journeys are on hold now with this new business undertaking. I’m sure she’ll come back in the future, at least to the Myst Age journeys. Just not until Spring.

The fiction time will be reserved for the upcoming fantasy series and the other novels coming out next year.

 

Categories: Biobreeds, Breedables, Games General, Inworldz, Myst Online, oyos, Prim Space on Grids, Second Life, Virtual Worlds | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

