Digital Chaos End of 2016

At the end of the year, I’m finally figuring out just how much playtime I can have in the virtual world. It’s not much compared to what it was years ago. Work keeps me too busy to even keep up on the gaming blogs, and I’m delighted. I love my work, so this is a very good thing.

To be honest, I was going to shut down. Think I’ve even mentioned it here. But I’m working on my editorial calendars and feel I’ll keep this blog going. Elpis may not be done putting her Myst inspired exploration stories out there. I would like to keep a place to gripe or just plainly report on the virtual world thoughts I have.

Not sure if I’ll try for a once a month post or a quarterly post here.

Elpis hasn’t done much this year. She may or may not do something to show before summer. I’ve got a fantasy series to publish this spring, plus promotions for another author, a special book release for Sandie, and we are reworking Sandie’s two series to bring them up today and prepare them for fundraising efforts.

All this while making my debut as THE Coffee Copywriter. My new business venture. Breaking out from current client sector into a new one designed to work with my future shop plans.

I am a loner in Second Life still, breeding oyos and biobreeds. I visit the grid a few times a week to get babies and feed them. I do still observe what’s going on in the breedables world and with other people on the grid.

All grids have went through a residential slowdown this year, and Second Life is no exception. I expect a bit more slowdown in Second Life as Sansar opens in 2017 and many move there. I also expect a bit of a pick up for other grids as those who do not want to go to Sansar take a closer look at those.

Oyos disappointed me in Second Life this season. They ruined the horses there for me. Made them into some sort of Barbie wanna be joke with the new hairs. I really did heaven all I had after the update. I explored a little this morning and see some changes at markets. Less lives are out for sale and many of what are for sale are older ones that were not updated. And some serious price drops. This implies I’m not the only one unhappy with the change.

I pointedly gave my opinion to Jenni in Inworldz. I’m one of their biggest breeder on that grid and wanted to make myself clear. I tried, I really did. I tried to get used to the hairs and warm up to them in Second Life, but just could not. I suspect my days as being a large horse breeder in Inworldz will come to an end if those hairs move there. As will a few others who breed like I do.

No loss for me. I’ll adjust, if needed. More elephant breeding. And I have a ton of retired horses saved up to keep on my sims. No need to update them. I’d just have to build more for the charity efforts.

Charity efforts for 2016 went well. We took in 12k for Toys 4 Tots through Kaedara breedables. I’m about ready to close out the current kiosk and put out a new one for 2017 for our Relay For Life efforts. It’s possible our 2016 yearly total will be around 120K when I do that. Not too shabby for a two person effort and less than six months’ work.

I stay in Second Life for the beauty of the Biobreeds animals. When it comes time, I’ll be sad to say good bye to my digital friends. It looks like that will be the end of it, for Biobreeds will be in Sansar. I get the feeling they don’t feel capable of handling staff for two grids and so won’t be coming to Inworldz.

I can understand that. A lot of oyo work is up to Jenni. She has to manage both Second Life and Inworldz. One has to stay on top of things with SL folk and the grid isn’t as nice on breedables as Inworldz is. Plus she holds down a RL job. As a result, her IW to-do list seems to move at a much slower pace.

I try to be understanding and not get bitter. But am disappointed about the blackrose horn script. I’ve had a few born that are a bit useless to me now. I really wanted the new texture on it. So sad. That was the main new horn I looked forward to enjoying so much. Maybe she’ll get around to it in 2017 sometime.

Still, she does an awesome job getting done what she does get done for us. And we never have to wait to get help from her. Just hope they get more staffing help or something before the grid grows. Too much for just one person.

The horse and elephant vendors are great. Sadly, not many are taking advantage of them, so buyers still have to be careful. And they’re not watching them closely to catch any broken before they sell. Can’t understand that myself. Only issues I’ve had is that the horse vendors don’t show horns for unicorns, and the elephant vendors don’t show wild or tamed traits. Should tell Jenni I guess. Hoping she makes them for all the breedables.

If you’re a new visitor here and you need something other than watching television to do with your time, give virtual world gaming a try. There’s plenty of online games out there. I love mystonline.com – and it’s free to play. The game is ran with funds from player donations. It’s expanse though, so may be a good idea to find an older player to help guide you. One or two areas are better played with a buddy. Join the forums and ask for help…ask where to start if you do download it.

My old persona there during the live gameplay days was ms. isis of Myss Terrie’s Bevin. (Bevins are now known as neighborhoods. Didn’t like the change myself. I prefer bevin and will continue to use that term if I write more fan fiction.) I worked as a guide within our bevin, and I’ve been known to enlist new players in Second Life and help them get started.

To give you an idea of how much there is to do there, I created my own flipbook (handbook) to keep at my desk when I had to guide someone. That thing is 3 inches thick, at least. There’s nice online guides out there to use now. People can direct you to them via the forum.

We created Friends of the Fissure before the live version of the gameplay ended. And continued it after. Myss Terrie created a point and click adventure webpage to show our creations off. Sadly, after we lost our dear friend Gandhar to heart attack, the interest died down for it. Although I did continue to write Elpis’s journeys. I just had her break off from FoF and set up her own base.  You can still see the point and click adventure here. Just click in the sky – upper left side.

My characters are Elpis and Sophrosyne in that journey.  I still have them in mystonline.com

There are independent gameplay creators in Second Life too. To join is free. To have a home takes either joining the membership, with which you get free rent for a 512 section of ground or a house on their prebuilt communities. You may also not join the membership and just rent from someone whatever house, skybox, or parcel of ground you wish. I suggest signing up and just playing free and homeless for awhile. It takes time to get to see the grid, meet people, find what’s available, and get your viewer to work right. There’s so many settings to get just right for your computer and connection.

There’s less gameplay in Inworldz versus Second Life, but it’s a super grid for building, sailing, flying, riding, and hanging out with people. As with all grids there can be some quirks to performance at times, but overall, it runs much better than Second Life. Of course, as with all things, there are exceptions. Particularily if you live in an area where your connection does not travel well to the servers. This is true for all grids.

Less people on Inwordz also means more privacy without having to get “rude”. For creators and builders, this is a huge plus.

If you’re looking to get into virtual worlds to make a paycheck, I can’t help you. I used to. But what worked back then when I did make a profit for me, doesn’t really seem to work so well now.

I guess I profit in Inworldz with my breedables. But since 90% of what I do make goes to charity, I really cannot say I do. Even so, I bet if I add it up, profit would only be 50% of my cost, without including tiers. It’s just very inexpensive in Inworldz, no need to count prims for the most part, and I’ve found some of the most wonderful people there.

Til next time!

Happy New Year!

Categories: Biobreeds, Breedables, Games General, Inworldz, Myst Online, oyos, Prim Space on Grids, Second Life, Virtual Worlds | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

