Iceapocalypse Update

Thought I’d do a quick comment update while we’re stuck inside, thanks to nearly an inch of ice from our ice storm outside so far. And while we wait for the forthcoming wind gusts that threaten to fall limbs onto the stressed power lines tonight.

My character, Elpis, has been saying to me that she’s not finished. She wants a series later in the year. She wants to name it something to show her break away from Myst Ages to her own worlds.

The linking books are not the only means to travel. Some natives have their own means of traveling, and the D’ni have linked to their worlds here and there.

It doesn’t seem likely that forthcoming stories will cross over into Myst Ages or be places the D’ni linked to. Not sure what a good name will be yet. The phrase “beyond Myst” has been used too many times. Maybe something about leaving Myst behind.

That bugs me too. Elpis is a lover and follower of Yeesha. While she may be exploring regions that do not involve the D’ni, she will always be looking for clues to finding the lost D’ni.

I shall keep brainstorming on this.

In Second Life, I’m delighted to see that they cancelled the 500 Linden minimum sales price for the oyo market. Forget that it’s just plain wrong, there’s really no use to enforced minimum pricing. People will pay and sell for what they want. They’ll find a way to work around it.

And people like me will find ways to defy anyone telling them what they can and cannot do with their own property.

There was a brief comment from Ozzie that he was taking opinions from others on whether or not he should start a minimum price requirement. If I wasn’t incognito I’d have given him a bit more than he was asking for. LOL

That was awhile ago, but didn’t see any more from him. Hopefully others gave him a resounding NO.

Let’s face it. There’s not enough going on in SL anymore to overthink the secondary market. People who don’t buy cheap aren’t as many as they were. And the ones who do, tend to stick with breeders they’re familiar with, whether it’s in person or from quietly stalking them over time.

I can say that as a breeder who no one knows, I get very few sales at all in SL now. In comparison to if I was my Elpis avatar, I’d probably get at least one or two sales per week. Just because Elpis is known and trusted as a breeder.

Read an update on the upcoming Sansar. Nah. Still not interested.

In Inworldz, oyo brought out a lot over the winter season for us to play with. In some ways, this is great. It makes for fun in breeding. In sales, it’s mixed. Sometimes it means more sales, sometimes less.

Overall it’s more good than bad that they released so much.

They’ve seem to fallen back on the old feeling that rare sometimes means impossibly rare. I had Jenni check on the xmas hairs not passing and she told me she checked but that they are rare. Website does not indicate this, so I figured something was wrong.

In my eye, it’s still wrong. Rare seems to mean never showing up in this case. And that’s just not fun.

I’m sure they were made rare in response to people requesting rare stuff so they could sell higher. It happens. Everyone wants to sell for more.

Well, not me. I’d rather sell more for less. I get joy from seeing more people being able to enjoy my offspring. And, let’s be honest. This group is way too small to worry about it anyway…we should just breed for fun, in my opinion.

Still, I try to be somewhat respectful in horses‌. My minimum market price is 500 I’z. Most rares are 1-2k, depending on traits. I do keep a supply of discounted bundles at home at Elvenglades for 200-250 I’z. These are common coats with nice traits. Oh, at market, I’ll sometimes have SS rares for 500. People don’t seem to want to buy those as much.

New traits or very hard to get traits add to the pricing. As does specialty breeding.

I’ve noticed one or two breeders offering bundles for 50 Izzies. Wonder if anyone will try to raise a fuss? Someone already did for someone else selling cheaper, though not that cheap. Felt good to see others standing up for this person in question.

What I did not like was my name mentioned as someone who sells for the right prices. Said breeder being griped about is an actual friend of mine. I sent her a message right away when I found out making sure she understood that I was not involved and was very happy with her prices. I buy a lot from her.

Inworldz is not perfect. The avatars have fallable human beings behind them. You’ll still get all the personality quirks you do. How you deal with them is all that matters. Won’t go into that.

Will share that I have a very pushy breeder intent on friending Tempest. Said person does not read profile to see that Tempest does not friend people and giving instructions on how to find my public avatar. Never talks to me first to ask permission…has never said boo to me at all. Just keeps requesting. I keep declining. Now I’m not sure I’d want to friend rude, pushy person on my public avatar even.

arionoffspringherd_001

Since I sugar Arion, I have a huge load of dawn dapples and purple heart eyes. But I only sell a few to give other breeders a chance to play. Now I’m getting the RFL purple hair. This one was not out there because it got missed being added to the gene pool. I can’t say how others are doing with it…more specifically the buyer to the other two special edition horses. I’m doing well and will have a line of those built up. The trait will not go extinct on my watch.

I do worry about Nymph coat. Nymph hair is doing well. Nymph coat does not seem to be doing so well, for me or the other Nymph owners. Almost seems like only horse passing Nymph coat is the special horse that Chloe has. It’s possible that coat may go extinct.

I have an 85 day old noon dapple. Not one noon dapple from her yet. Another one set too rare and I suspect will go extinct soon. Unless more randoms keep getting released through the system.

Categories: Biobreeds, Breedables, Games General, Inworldz, Myst Online, oyos, Second Life, Virtual Worlds | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

